The shortlist is now out for the WCBC 2019 Sports Awards, which will be held in a ceremony at Brymbo Sports and Social Club on Friday, February 15.

The categories are varied and the nominees come from a whole range of backgrounds – with sports as diverse as football, fencing, martial arts, swimming and bowls represented in the line-up.

Categories cover every level of community sport – and there’s even a few athletes who have competed on the global stage in the mix.


Cllr Andrew Atkinson, Lead Member for Youth Services and Anti-Poverty, with responsibility for Leisure, said: “All of those on the shortlist have excelled in their fields, and their nominations are all thoroughly deserved.

“Each and every one of them deserves recognition for their efforts – be that through their hard work as a coach or trainer, or the effort they’ve put in to physical recovery after a physical ailment.

“I congratulate all those who’ve made it this far, and look forward to seeing who wins on the night.”

The nominations for this year’s awards are outlined below – take a look! You might know some of the sporting stars who are up for an award this year.

Volunteer of the Year – Sponsored by AVOW

  • Delwyn Derrick – Bellevue FC
  • Sarah Warburton – Cefn Mawr Rangers FC
  • Clywedog Gold and Silver Young Ambassadors – Ysgol Clywedog
  • Stephen Wilk – Chirk Dragons Swimming Club

Coach of the Year – Sponsored by Charisma Trophies

  • Ady Jones – Ady Jones Taekwondo
  • Kieran Howard – Brymbo Lodge Youth  FC
  • Victoria Furlong Hart – Wrexham Golf Club

The National Exercise Referral Scheme (NERS) Achievement in Health Award – Sponsored by NERS

  • Enis Stevens
  • Mike Bishop
  • Nicola Tooke
  • Peter Francis

Organisation of the Year – Sponsored by Wrexham Tennis Centre

  • Bradley Park Bowling Club
  • Brickfield Rangers Football Club
  • Brymbo Lodge Youth Football Club
  • The Splash Community Trust
  • Wrexham Inclusion Football Club –
  • St Christophers School

Disability Sports Personality of the Year – Sponsored by Get Out, Get Active and Disability Sport Wales

  • Megan Weetman – Special Olympics Wrexham Athletic Club
  • Sabrina Fortune – Special Olympics Wrexham Athletic Club
  • Shaun Stocker – Blind Veterans Para Powerlifting

Junior Sports Personality of the Year – Sponsored by Cllr I David Bithell MBE

  • Cory Jones – Maelor Boxing Club/Ysgol y Grango
  • Daniel Thompson – Archery GB
  • Ellie Jones – One Planet Adventure Race Team
  • Joe Howell – Llay Cricket Club/Ysgol y Grango
  • Josie Williams – Rhosnesni Netball Club

Sports Personality – Sponsored by Freedom Leisure

  • Sabrina Fortune – Special Olympics Wrexham Athletic Club
  • Steph Phennah – Wrexham Fencing Club
  • Glen Edwards – Ady Jones Taekwondo

Service to Sport

  • David Jones – Maelor Boxing Club
  • Raymond Barnes – Bradley Park Bowling Club
  • Tony Birch – Brymbo Football Club

The closing date for 2019 nursery school applications is February 22