It’s not long before the Wrexham County Borough Council Sports Awards 2018, supported by Active Wrexham.

The awards evening will take place at Brymbo Sports & Social Complex on Friday, February 23.

Those who want tickets to the event have until midnight on Friday, February 9 – so make sure to get yours now!

Tickets can be booked at or by calling the Active Wrexham team on 01978 298997


And the nominees are…

We’ve received scores of nominations across eight different categories, with nominees representing some of the best sporting groups and clubs across the county borough have to offer.

The nominees in each category are:

  • Volunteer of the Year (Sponsored by AVOW)

  • Kimberley Dutton; RCF i Ferched (Clwb Pel Droed Wrecsam/Wrexham Football Club)
  • Donna Hughes & Team; Wrexham Rugby Union Club
  • Mark Andrew Jones; North Wales Crusaders
  • Ben Purcell; Wrexham Tennis Centre
  • Steve Wilk; Chirk Dragons Swimming Club
  • Coach of the Year (Sponsored by Charisma Trophies

  • Ron Coles; Special Olympics Wrexham Athletic Club
  • Richard Houghton; Wrexham Gymnastics Club
  • Stephen Jones; North Wales Crusaders and Wales Wheelchair Rugby League
  • Stephen Parker; Chirk Dragons Swimming Club
  • Sue Williams; Rhosnesni Netball Club
  • NERS Champion (Sponsored by the National Exercise on Referral Scheme (NERS))

  • Jackie Kearsley
  • Donna Price
  • Gary Price
  • Jo Warne
  • Dave Whiteland
  • Organisation of the Year (Sponsored by Wrexham Tennis Centre)

  • Brickfield Rangers Football Club
  • Rhosnesni Netball Club
  • Wrexham Gymnastics Club
  • Wrexham Inclusion Football Club
  • Wrexham Swimming Club
  • Disability Sports Personality of the Year (Sponsored by Arriva Trains Wales)

  • Stephen Davies; Special Olympics Wrexham Multisport
  • Damon Hughes; Special Olympics Wrexham Multisport
  • Harry Jones; North Wales Crusaders and Wales Wheelchair Rugby League
  • Greg Vickers; Special Olympics Wrexham Athletic Club
  • Megan Weetman; Special Olympics Wrexham Athletic Club
  • Junior Sports Personality of the Year (Sponsored by Cllr I David Bithell MBE)

  • Beth Christy; Matrix Taekwando
  • Jacob Edwards; Olympus Gymnastics Club
  • Leah Kirby; Wrexham Netball Club/Ysgol y Grango
  • Elliot Odunaiya; Wrexham Amateur Athletic Club
  • Steph Phennah; Wrexham Fencing Club
  • Sports Personality (Sponsored by Freedom Leisure)

  • Lowri Davies; Canoe Wales and Llangollen Canoe Club
  • Catherine Parsonage; Chirk Dragons Swimming Club
  • Matthew Willis; Wrexham Amateur Athletic Club
  • Service to Sport

  • David Jones; Maelor Boxing Club
  • Phil Jones; LEX X1 and Wrexham Youth League
  • Bob Rogers; Wrexham Swimming Club

Never miss a thing… follow us on Snapchat.